Campfire Pizza

camping

Just because you can’t take a hot shower doesn’t mean you can’t eat well. I went camping this week at Worthington State Park on the Delaware River. It was absolutely gorgeous. While my cooking goal for the weekend was to catch a fish, fillet it and cook it on an open fire didn’t materialize because I didn’t catch a fish, I got to try another of my outdoor cooking options.

BBQ Pizza has been really trendy lately and I’ve seen a lot of recipes for it. And while I didn’t want to worry about bringing any of the fancy ingredients I’ve seen used on said pizzas, I figured a quick easy pizza would be a tasty alternative to burgers and hot dogs.

I made the dough before I left, refrigerated it and then took it out of the ice chest at the camp site. It worked perfect that way.

5855_1121206589150_1196627359_303746_7857653_n

The recipe for the dough came from a Bobby Flay recipe on the Food Network. I made some adaptions.

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup lukewarm water (105 degrees F to 115 degrees F)
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, plus additional for oiling bowl
  • 1 3/4 to 2 cups all-purpose unbleached flour
  • 1/4 cup plus extra for flouring rolling surface yellow cornmeal (I used a coarser grain because I like the texture)
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • Whatever you want to top with it, I used store bought sauce, mozzarella cheese and pepperonis but the sky is the limit.

Mix 1/3 cup of warm water and sugar. Pour dry yeast over sugar water and let stand in warm place for about 10 minute until it doubles in size.

In a large bowl combine yeast, remaining water, olive oil, 1 3/4 cup flour, corn meal and salt. Combine ingredients until they make a ball of dough.

Turn dough out onto flat surface and knead while slowly combining the remaining flour. You should knead for 5-10 minute to get the gluten going.

Place dough in a bowl that has been coated with olive oil. Roll ball of dough around in the bowl so its also covered in olive oil and then cover with a clean dish towel.

Let the bowl sit in a warm place until dough doubles in size, about an hour. Then turn dough out onto the counter and give it a swift blow to punch the dough down. Divide into four sections.

If you want to use this dough immediately, go for it. If not, form each piece into a small disk and wrap tightly in saran wrap. I put two in the freezer to be used in 6 months and two in the fridge for camping.

Putting it all together

For the camping trip I also packed a can of pre-made pizza sauce. If you want to make your own, go for it, but the can was easy to pack and quick to use. I brought a bag of grated mozzarella cheese and some pepperonis for toppings.

If you’re using a

When you’re ready to use the dough, take it out a few minutes and let it start to warm up. You can start kneading it in your hands to get it going.

I used a cutting board, but bring some flat surface to roll your dough out on. Use cornmeal instead of flour to dust your rolling surface to give the bottom of our pizza that pizzeria sweetness and crispiness. I also forgot a rolling pin and had to use a diet coke to roll my dough. When you’ve got it rolled cover both sides with a little olive oil, I brought some in a little squirt bottle.

After topping it come the hard part, getting it onto the grill. I got a little help, but you want to try to get it off the board and onto the grill without tearing the pizza. I used a spatula, my hands and sort of slid it off. I’ll warn its tricky. If you don’t feel comfortable with your available grill cooking the pizza straight above the fire, you can put it on aluminum foil, which will also make transfer easier.

Let the pizza bake over hot coals for about 15 minutes or until the crust is your desired crispiness. During the cooking I nudged the pizza a couple of times to keep it from sticking.

When its done it will be a tasty meal option that includes a smokey flavor from the grill and will even have pretty grill marks on the bottom.

5855_1121206389145_1196627359_303741_5690091_n

spreading

5855_1121206509148_1196627359_303744_4780476_n

5855_1121206549149_1196627359_303745_839667_n

3 responses to “Campfire Pizza

  1. That’s amazing, Ginger! I’ve seen people do this on the Food Network before, but never in real life.

    I really want pizza now, too.

  2. I want to try grilling pizza now! It sounds great!

  3. I love that picture of you holding up the pizza. My mom buys premade pizzas from Papa Murphy’s and puts them on the grill, but yours looks even better!

Leave a Reply

