Coq Au Vin

This weekend I got brave and decided to try something new. I had never made coq au vin (chicken and wine) myself before. But I figured what the heck and gave it try. Sorry there are no photos for this entry. But I will definitely be making this again and will remember the camera next time.

Since I had never made coq au vin before I researched several recipes. My recipe was inspired by a Emeril Lagasse recipe I found on the Food Network’s recipe.

The biggest concern I had when looking at the various recipes was that the portions were huge. Most called for a whole chicken or 8 legs with thighs and legs intact. That was just too much for me. So I reduced the recipe down in some respects but not in others. I also changed a few other items. It took me less than two hours to prepare.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pound bacon
  • 1/2 cup plus 1.5 tablespoons flour
  • 5 chicken thighs, skin on
  • Black pepper
  • A medium size vidallia onion thinly sliced
  • 2 8oz containers of sliced portabello mushrooms
  • A bunch of green onions sliced
  • 3 carrots thinly sliced
  • 4 cloves of chopped garlic
  • 3 to 4 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 cups red wine (I used cooking wine because I had some on hand)
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1/4 cup butter
  • 6 red potatoes

Because this recipes moves pretty quickly, I went ahead and pre chopped everything before I got started. I recommend also doing that.

In a large pot or skillet over medium heat cook bacon until crispy. Remove the bacon and set aside. If you have a dutch oven pot or skillet, this would be a great time to use one, unfortunately, I don’t have one.

Season the chicken pieces with salt and pepper and then cover in flour.

With the bacon grease still hot, place the chicken skin side down in the pan. Brown the chicken about 4 minutes on each side over a medium heat. Remove chicken and set aside.

Add your chopped vidallia onion to the pot and saute in grease until soft, about 4 minutes. Then add garlic, green onions, carrots and mushrooms. Saute about 5 minutes, stirring occassionaly to prevent burning and to move the ingredients around. Mushrooms should start to shrink in size. Reduce heat to a low temperature.

Add bay leaves and thyme. Put chicken onto the bed of vegetables. Add chicken stock and red wine. You may need to adjust your amounts depending on the size of your pot so that the chicken is mostly covered in liquid.

Cover the pot and increase the temperature to medium until the broth comes to a boil. Lower the temperature and let simmer, covered for 35 minutes. There’s not need to stir, but you can check occasionally to skim the grease from the bacon off the top.

While the chicken is cooking, quarter red potatoes and in a seperate pot boil the potatoes until soft. Drain and coat with 1/4 cup of butter and set aside.

After the 35 minutes is up on the chicken, remove the chicken thighs and set aside. Mix 1.5 tablespoons of flour and 1 tablespoon of butter together. Whisk into the veggies and broth. The broth will thicken. Return chicken to the pot and let boil, uncovered for 5 minutes to let the broth reduce down.

Serve by placing potatoes on plate, put chicken piece on top and the cover with broth and veggies. You can garnish with a piece of the crispy bacon.

Leave a Reply

